top of page

Women’s squads for WCPL, the 6IXTY confirmed

The full teams for this year’s first-ever women’s Caribbean Premier League have been announced.

The squads for the Massy Women’s Caribbean Premier League, which will also compete in the new cricket format, the 6IXTY, have been set and will be in action from August 31 to September 4 in the CPL and from August 24 to 28 for the 6IXTY.

The three teams will be captained by Hayley Matthews (Barbados Royals), Stafanie Taylor (Guyana Amazon Warriors), and Deandra Dottin (Trinbago Knight Riders).

Each squad will have three overseas spots with players from South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and the USA.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors will be joined by Sri Lankan captain Chamari Athapaththu, who has played in almost 200 internationals. An opening batter, Athapaththu has made six international hundreds with an ODI high score of 178*.

Also with the Amazon Warriors is South African seam bowler Ayabonga Khaka. With a T20 International bowling average of just 24.02 and an economy rate of 6.43, Khaka will bring wickets and control to the Warriors team.

The final Amazon Warriors overseas player is 16-year-old Isani Vaghela, who has already represented the USA national team.

Pete Russell, Hero CPL’s CEO, said: “We are really pleased with the quality of international signings for the inaugural Massy WCPL and SKYEXCH 6IXTY tournaments, and we look forward to welcoming these players in St Kitts for these two exciting competitions.”

The Royals features Pakistani bowling all-rounder Fatima Sana, South African all-rounder Chloe Tyron and USA under-19 all-rounder Snigdha Paul.

The Trinbago Knight Riders will feature New Zealand seam bowler Hayley Jensen, South African captain Sune Luus and USA international medium pacer Geetika Kodali.

Fans can look forward to the following at The 6IXTY:

  • Each batting team has six wickets – at the fall of the sixth wicket they are all out.

  • Each batting team has two PowerPlay overs. They can unlock a third PowerPlay by hitting two sixes in the first 12 balls. This extra PowerPlay over can be taken at any time between overs 3-9.

  • There will be 30 balls bowled from one end before the action switches to the other end for the final 30 balls.

  • The 30 balls will be delivered as 5 separate overs, with no bowler being able to bowl more than 2 overs for the innings.

  • If teams do not bowl their overs within the allotted time a member of their team is removed from the field for the final six balls.

  • Fans will vote for the timing of a “Mystery Fan Ball” where a batter can’t be dismissed by the bowler.


bottom of page