top of page

Guyana Harpy Eagles and Barbados Pride sticking to their plans ahead of highly anticipated fixture

Guyana Harpy Eagles playing four-day practise match at the Guyana National Stadium

Guyana Harpy Eagles are set to challenge the Barbados Pride later this week, with both Captains looking to execute their plans perfectly on the pitch to secure victory.

The West Indies Four-Day Championship returns on May 18th with a clash between Barbados Pride and Guyana Harpy Eagles at Queen’s Park Oval.

Barbados Pride are currently unbeaten with 42 points and well on their way to securing the Championship.

However, the Harpy Eagles have a chance to get back into contention for the title and cut down Barbados’ lead on Wednesday.

Eagles, who are former champions are currently on 21.4 points in fourth place behind defending champs Barbados in first.

Harpy Eagles Captain Leon Johnson is confident in the team’s ability ahead of the match.

“It could still be a fight for the championship. I think we just need to take care of what we could and that’s playing good cricket. Planning well and executing well. Play it session by session and I think once you play good cricket, the results take care of themselves.”

Barbados Pride Captain Kraigg Brathwaite acknowledges that Guyana will be a tough team to beat, but also remains confident that his team can win.

“Obviously Guyana now have a fair bit of spinning. Obviously we would know that and for me it’s just about backing your plan and sticking with it.”

“You gotta trust your defence playing spin and run-scoring will come in between.”

“But we know it will be a challenge.”

Other Round Three fixtures see Trinidad and Tobago Red Force and Leeward Islands Hurricanes at Diego Martin while Jamaica Scorpions take on Windward Islands Hurricanes at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy.

Harpy Eagles’ next match is against Jamaica Scorpions from May 25 to 28 at Diego Martin and Trinidad & Tobago Red Force from June 1 to 4 at the Oval.

Guyana Harpy Eagles squad: Leon Johnson (captain), Keemo Paul (vice-captain), Chandrapaul Hemraj, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Tevin Imlach, Vishaul Singh, Akshaya Persaud, Anthony Bramble, Veerasammy Permaul, Gudakesh Motie, Nial Smith, Demetri Cameron, Antony Adams, Kevin Sinclair and Ronsford Beaton.

Barbados Pride squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Camarie Boyce, Shamarah Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (vice-captain/wkp.), Justin Greaves, Keon Harding, Chaim Holder, Shai Hope, Akeem Jordan, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Ramson Simmonds, Jomel Warrican.


bottom of page