top of page

Best of the Best Warriors Cup returns

The Best of the Best Warriors Cup 2022 returns after a two-year hiatus with Guyana’s top martial artists set to compete with visitors from Trinidad and Tobago for a shot at trophies and prizes.

The 17TH Best of the Best Warriors Cup will be held on December 4 at the National Gymnasium.

This is according to Quacey Baveghems, Head of the Best of the Best Martial Arts Motivators Association,

“We have approximately nine to ten clubs participating in this competition, which is not nothing new to anyone in Guyana because Best of the Best hosts this competition every year. This competition is based on discipline and motivating youths.”

Participating clubs include the Black Hawks, Guyana Mixed Martial Arts Federation, Tang Soodoo International Guyana while invitations have also been extended to other clubs, including the Guyana Karate College.

Competitors from Trinidad and Tobago will also be flying in for the hotly anticipated competition.

This martial arts showcase will feature competitors in Kung Fu, Shotokan, Tang Soodoo, Mixed Martial Arts and Judo. Events feature sparring, grappling, team kata, traditional and free kata.

Age categories are 6 and Under, 7 to 9, 10 to 12, 13 to 15, 16 to 18, 18 to 25, 25 to 35, 35 to 45 and 45 and over.

Trophies and medals will be awarded to top athletes while a monetary contribution will be given to the martial arts school that carries away the most gold.

The event had been staged annually up until the pandemic hit Guyana. The Cup now returns after two years.

Baveghems invites members of the public to come out and witness the best martial artists in Guyana compete. The entrance fee is $300 at the door with events starting from 10:00 hrs.

“The turnout will be exceptional because my tournament always sees at least 11 or 12 schools from Guyana alone. I’m also looking forward to support from the general public to be there.”

Some sponsors who helped make the return of the Cup possible are Modern Optical, Ministry of Tourism, National Sports Commission and the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport.


bottom of page