top of page

Jamaica wins women’s T20 Blaze Trophy

The winning team (Photo: CWI)

Jamaica surpassed former table-toppers Barbados to lift the Championship trophy on the dramatic final day of the women’s T20 Blaze tournament.

Jamaica recorded a massive 124 run victory against Leeward Islands in the final day of the Cricket West Indies T20 Blaze tournament to be crowned Champions.

There was tension and drama at the Guyana National Stadium, as front-runner Barbados lost to Trinidad and Tobago in the morning match and then Jamaica secured their victory.

Both Barbados and Jamaica ended with four wins and one defeat to record the same number of points. However, the winners edged out Barbados on superior net run rate.

Winning the toss and batting first, the Jamaicans were led by Natasha McLean who smashed her career-best score and the highest for the tournament.

The powerful 27-year-old opener made 83 off just 54 balls which included nine sizzling boundaries and three towering sixes.

Jamaican Captain Stafanie Taylor also made an impressive 56 from 51 balls which included five fours.

They shared a record 145-run partnership – the highest this tournament as well – to lift the team to 170-5 off their 20 overs.

Taylor said after the match: “It’s a good feeling. I thought today we did a fantastic job, Natasha getting us to that total, we needed somebody to propel us, given what happened against Barbados yesterday [Monday] … we were given another chance and we did it.”

Taylor added: “After seeing Barbados lose to Trinidad … I said to the players let’s go out there and try to win the toss and bat first, post a big total and at least we know that’s something we can control. Also, we want to dedicate this win to our former coach Cleon Smith who died since we last played this tournament.”

More action from the final round of the included the upset of tournament where Trinidad and Tobago defeated reigning champions Barbados, handing the bajans their first loss of the tournament.

Coming into this match Barbados needed a win to secure back-to-back titles but they fell to a 19-run defeat. However, they struggled to find momentum against Trinidad and Tobago who posted 108-7 from their 20 overs.

Home team Guyana ended the tournament with a six wicket victory over the Windward Islands.


bottom of page