top of page

Jagdeo re-elected General Secretary while Mustapha retained Executive Secretary

L-R: Executive Secretary Zulfikar Mustapha and General Secretary Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo

The newly constituted Central Committee of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) convened its first meeting on Tuesday at Freedom House, and Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo was unanimously re-elected as the General Secretary.

The committee elected 18 Central Committee members to the Executive Committee, consisting of Dr. Irfaan Ali, Zulfikar Mustapha, Anil Nandlall, Dr. Frank Anthony, Vickram Bharrat, Collin Croal, Nigel Dharamlall, Neil Kumar, Shyam Nokta, Dr. Vindhya Persaud, Donald Ramotar, Clement Rohee, Dharamkumar Seeraj, Pauline Sukhai, and Gail Teixeira as full members.

Kwame Mc Coy, Anand Persaud, and Ricky Ramraj were elected as candidate members.  

Mustapha was re-elected as Executive Secretary, and Dr. Irfaan Ali as the Finance Secretary. The other Secretaries will be elected at the next Central Committee meeting. 

In his address to the meeting, Dr. Jagdeo thanked the outgoing Central Committee members for their contributions.  

He stressed that the Congress was a resounding success, highlighted by its scale, diversity, energetic atmosphere, deep discussions, significant issues tackled, and efficient logistics. 

Dr. Jagdeo also expressed his deep appreciation for the work of party members, supporters, volunteers, and others who contributed to the Congress.

The 32nd Congress, which took place from May 3 to 5 at Liliendaal, was held under the theme, “Strengthen the Party, Defend Guyana, Unite Our People for Progress and Prosperity.” The event drew over 3,000 delegates and observers from across the country.


bottom of page