top of page

Amazon Warriors set to face Jamaica Tallawahs in must-win clash

Guyana Amazon Warriors' Skipper dives for a catch in CPL match against Trinbago Knight Riders (Photo: CPL)

The Guyana Amazon Warriors will take on the Jamaica Tallawahs in match 25 of the 2022 Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) today.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors are having a challenging season in this year’s Caribbean Premier League, and are now set to take on the Jamaica Tallawahs later this evening in what will be their first at home fixture in years.

The Warriors are the only team to have ever made it to five CPL finals, but have never won the championship. However, they must now win their next four group matches, inclusive of tonight’s fixture, or they may not make it to the knockout stage.

The Warriors will hope to bounce back at the Guyana National Stadium as they currently sit at the bottom of the league table on three points from six games. The Tallawahs, on the other hand, are third in the standings with eight points.

Warriors will be without the services of Tabriz Shamsi and Heinrich Klaasen. However, Bangladesh star all-rounder Shakib Al Hassan and Rahmanullah Gurbaz who opens the batting from Afghanistan will serve as replacements.

Former Guyana Amazon Warriors captain Chris Green will suit up for the Jamaica Tallawahs.

One of the Warrior’s more dramatic losses this season came against the Trinbago Knight Riders who had been on a losing streak prior to the matchup.

Speaking after that match however, Captain Shimron Hetmyer kept a cool head and was unfazed by the challenge ahead in upcoming fixtures.

“We’re not really thinking too far ahead. We just take games on step at a time and one game at a time. As we move on from here, I think there’s a lot of learning from here and just for us to know as a bowling unit we’re there, we’re right where we want to be. We just to know as batters, and for myself, to just get the team to cross the line.”

Guyana Amazon Warriors squad: Shimron Hetmyer (captain), Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Colin Ingram, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Paul Stirling, Shai Hope, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Jermaine Blackwood, Gudakesh Motie, Ronsford Beaton, Veerasammy Permaul, Junior Sinclair, Matthew Nandu.


bottom of page