top of page

National Blitz chess championships return after two years

The blitz championship will be hosted online on the platform on Saturday February 5th, with games beginning from 2:00pm sharp. This is the first time these championships will be held since 2020.

The open tournament features 9 rounds, Swiss format games, with a time control of 5 minutes with one second added to the clock after each move.

Keron Sandiford
CM Taffin Khan

Reigning senior champion CM Taffin Khan, and reigning junior champion Keron Sandiford have indicated that they will return to defend their titles.

Other competitors expected to take part are former Senior Champion FM Anthony Drayton, AFM Davion Mars, Irshad Mohamed, Loris Nathoo, Frankie Farley, Sherlyta Campayne, Justino Da Silva and Roberto Neto, Kyle Couchman, Jaden Taylor, Kishan Puran, and Ricardo Narine among others.

A top prize of $40,000 will be awarded to the player who earns the title of National Blitz Champion for 2022.

The second and third place winners will receive $25,000 and $15,000 respectively.

The best female player will be awarded $20,000 while the best junior player will receive a trophy.

The tournament is expected to attract 40 plus players.

Games will be monitored by FIDE arbiters John Lee and Anand Raghunauth.

Registration ends on Thursday February 3rd.

bottom of page